Women’s Practice For Health & Nourishment (session 1)

Iyengar Yoga Wisdom and Sadhana

October 22, 2020
Online Virtual Workshop

Time:

Class 1: 7:45am-10:15am PST, 10:45am-1:15pm EST, 3:45pm-6:15pm London

Class 2 and 3: 8:30am-11:00am PST, 11:30am-2:00pm EST, 4:30pm-7:00pm London

WORKSHOP INFO

 

“Where women are respected, there gods dwell. Where they are disregarded, there all deeds go in vain.”

– Manusmrti lll.55

 

In Vedic times, women were respected and held in high esteem. This did not mean that a woman’s sadhana should mirror that of a man’s, or that one was better than another. In fact, it was understood that our bodies and physiological needs do differ throughout the different stages of life – and Yoga practice is to be tailored carefully to each of these crucial stages. As the body was sanctified, and viewed as a temple for the Spirit it was considered an obligation for each human being to take good care of the body making it a fit vehicle for the soul’s journey. This was done in a multitude of ways including through the practice of asana and pranayama.

In Yoga: A Gem for Women, Geetaji Iyengar writes:

“A woman goes through four stages of life; childhood, adolescence, middle age and old age, through which physiological changes occur and internal conflicts arise that need to be addressed. The three milestones in a woman’s life are menstruation, pregnancy/delivery and menopause. Stabilization of one’s physical and mental states during these times is achieved by asanas and pranayama”

In this virtual workshop, Gloria Goldberg will share a wealth of teachings all diving deep into women’s practice, including sadhanas for the different stages of life.

  • You will also receive a video recording of the live session which you can review later, and have access to for 4 days after the completion of the class.
logo only light transparent
Join The Vidya Institute Mailing List

Subscribers are the first to hear about new programs, recieve updates to our teaching schedule, get exclusive discounts, and more.

Vidya Institute logo square-transparent