The Path of Bhakti & Devotional Sadhana A Celebration of This Year’s Guru Purnima Festival

July 24-26, 2021
Taught Live Online

TIMES:

Asana Sadhana: 3:00-5:00pm PST, 6:00-8:00pm EST, 11:00pm-1:00am London Time, 12:00am-2:00am CET

Lectures & Mantra Sadhana: 5:30-7:30pm PST, 8.30-10.30pm EST, 1:30-3:30am London Time, 2:30-4:30am CET

PRICE: $180

WORKSHOP INFO

“ We make use of the guru and of the love the guru awakens in us to bring us to the doorway….Devotion, as a method, takes us right back into the innermost part of ourselves, right back into the unformed—but it greases the skids for us.” 

 Ram Dass, 2004

The path of “bhakti” (devotion) is often called “the way of the heart”. It’s widely considered the context in which the other paths of Karma take place (action and Jnana – wisdom). 

As a practice, Bhakti Yoga and Ishwara pranidhana purify the mind and consciousness (citta) as they lead us to the innermost depths of our hearts. According to Patanjali, devotional sadhana can be cultivated in a number of ways, including devotion to the Guru, a deity or form of the divine, or by recitation of Sacred sound. 

On this day of Guru Purnima (July 24th),  we’ll initiate an exploration of sutras and sadhanas which bring the theory and practice of devotion together. As part of our practice, we will recite parts of the famous work of the Guru Gita, along with other devotional chants of India. Additionally, Gloria Goldberg will guide us through the ways in which we can strengthen a devotional approach to our asana practice (as well as select pranayamas for the same purpose.)

* Recordings are available for 14 days after the workshop

logo only light transparent
Join The Vidya Institute Mailing List

Subscribers are the first to hear about new programs, receive updates to our teaching schedule, get exclusive discounts, and more.

By clicking the button, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms.

Vidya Institute logo square-transparent