The Origins Of Yoga: Beyond Physical Practice: The Sage Patanjali’s Ancient Philosophy For Harnessing The Mind

May 22-23, 2021
Taught Live Online

TIMES:

+ Lecture: 4:00am-6:00am PST, 7:00am-9:00am EST, 1:00pm-3:00pm CET, 12:00pm-2:00pm GMT, 7:00pm-9:00pm Taiwan

+ Asana: 6:30am-8:30am PST, 9:30am-11:30am EST, 3:30pm-5:30pm CET, 2:30pm-4:30pm GMT, 9:30pm-11:30pm Taiwan

WORKSHOP INFO

One of the greatest challenges within yoga is the goal of harmonizing your mind. Anyone who’s tried this knows it’s much more difficult than it sounds.

In the Yoga Sutras, Patanjali discusses how you can use yogic sadhana to cultivate positive mental and emotional states. These states include:

  • Gratitude (santosha)
  • Compassion
  • Friendliness
  • Courage
  • Mindfulness

Rather than a fixation on what’s lacking, yoga asks that we cultivate appreciation for what we have. It especially encourages exposure to spiritual teachings of positive transformation.

During this workshop, we’ll explore the philosophical teachings of Patanjali and examine how they relate to both your daily life and Iyengar Yoga practice.

logo only light transparent
Join The Vidya Institute Mailing List

Subscribers are the first to hear about new programs, receive updates to our teaching schedule, get exclusive discounts, and more.

By clicking the button, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms.

Vidya Institute logo square-transparent