SUBTLE ANATOMY WORKSHOP 7: Foundations of The Chakras & Kundalini Shakti – The Stairway to Awakening

April 23-24, 2022
Taught Live Online

TIMES:  Lecture and Mantra Sadhana: 6:00-8:00am PDT, 9:00-11:00am EDT, 2:00-4:00pm BST, 3:00-5:00pm CEST; Iyengar Yoga Sadhana: 8:30-10:30am PDT, 11:30am-1:30pm EDT, 4:30-6:30pm BST, 5:30-7:30pm CEST

COST: $145.00

PREREQUISITE: 5 years Iyengar Yoga Sadhana. If you do not meet this requirement and are still interested in taking this course, please contact [email protected].

WORKSHOP INFO

The Subtle Anatomy of Yoga and Iyengar Yoga Practice: Awaken Your Inner Energy Anatomy for Deeper Sadhana

During this year’s Sadhana Enrichment curriculum (composed of 7 different a la carte workshops) we will explore the foundations of the ‘Inner Energy Anatomy’ and its relation to Yoga Sadhana. 

According to the Yoga Upanishads, and the ancient texts of Hatha Yoga and Tantra, our subtle body (Suksma shariram) is an interdimensional system composed of 2 major aspects. 

The more tangible aspect of the subtle body is a tapestry of inner energy channels called nadis – it is through them that the life force energy of the five pranas flow. 

If someone’s body and mind are filled with impurities (like the shadowy energies of the gunas, tamas and rajas) the five forms of lifeforce energy cannot flow properly.  This is why purification (bhuta shuddhi) is emphasized.

The chakras (also known as padmas) are esoteric pools of energy that compose the other half of the subtle anatomy of yoga. Together with the sun and moon channels of Pingala and Ida Nadi, along with the central channel of Sushumna, these chakras represent the ‘structures’ of the pranic field, the pranamaya kosha. 

During Gloria Goldberg’s component of these workshops, she’ll direct you to the next level of energetic practice and refinement of pranic lifeforce. These energy-focused asana teachings will help you to connect, and practically apply, the energetics as you’ll learn from the ancient Yogic texts.

We delightfully look forward to seeing you during one or all of the weekend workshops that compose this year-long course curriculum. 

SUBTLE ANATOMY WORKSHOP 7: Foundations of The Chakras & Kundalini Shakti – The Stairway to Awakening

The seven chakras are of vital importance to our inner energy anatomy. These energy centers are traditionally described as laying along the spine, with the seventh chakra transcending the others, at the crown of the head. 

In preparation to attempt the inner awakening of the abiding spiritual energy, known as the Kundalini Shakti, adept yogis of the past took the yogic quest to an extreme through rigorous physical and pranic cultivation. An uncultivated body and energy system was compared to an unbaked earthenware pot, which had to be ‘baked’ in the fires of yoga. As such, the yogis strived to construct what they called a ‘divine body’ (divya shariram). Aside from purification, devotional practice was emphasized so as to surrender to this intense process of transformation.

 

logo only light transparent
Join The Vidya Institute Mailing List

Subscribers are the first to hear about new programs, receive updates to our teaching schedule, get exclusive discounts, and more.

By clicking the button, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms.

Vidya Institute logo square-transparent