SUBTLE ANATOMY WORKSHOP 1: Foundations of the Five Koshas & Yogic Sadhana

September 11-12, 2021
Taught Live Online

TIMES:  Lecture and Mantra Sadhana:6:00-8:00am PDT, 9:00-11:00am EDT, 2:00-4:00pm BST, 3:00-5:00pm CEST;

Iyengar Yoga Sadhana:8:30-10:30am PDT, 11:30am-1:30pm EDT, 4:30-6:30pm BST, 5:30-7:30pm CEST

PRICE: $145.00

PREREQUISITE: 5 years Iyengar Yoga Sadhana. If you do not meet this requirement and are still interested in taking this course, please contact [email protected].

WORKSHOP INFO

The Subtle Anatomy of Yoga and Iyengar Yoga Practice: Awaken Your Inner Energy Anatomy for Deeper Sadhana

During this year’s Sadhana Enrichment curriculum (composed of 7 different a la carte workshops) we will explore the foundations of the ‘Inner Energy Anatomy’ and its relation to Yoga Sadhana. 

According to the Yoga Upanishads, and the ancient texts of Hatha Yoga and Tantra, our subtle body (Suksma shariram) is an interdimensional system composed of 2 major aspects. 

The more tangible aspect of the subtle body is a tapestry of inner energy channels called nadis – it is through them that the life force energy of the five pranas flow. 

If someone’s body and mind are filled with impurities (like the shadowy energies of the gunas, tamas and rajas) the five forms of lifeforce energy cannot flow properly.  This is why purification (bhuta shuddhi) is emphasized.

The chakras (also known as padmas) are esoteric pools of energy that compose the other half of the subtle anatomy of yoga. Together with the sun and moon channels of Pingala and Ida Nadi, along with the central channel of Sushumna, these chakras represent the ‘structures’ of the pranic field, the pranamaya kosha. 

During Gloria Goldberg’s component of these workshops, she’ll direct you to the next level of energetic practice and refinement of pranic lifeforce. These energy-focused asana teachings will help you to connect, and practically apply, the energetics as you’ll learn from the ancient Yogic texts.

We delightfully look forward to seeing you during one or all of the weekend workshops that compose this year-long course curriculum. 

Upon enrollment, you’ll get the option to select only the specific workshops that interest you. 

Please keep in mind that this curriculum will be non-optional prerequisite learning for the soon coming Advanced Chakra program – if you are interested in taking the Advanced Chakra programming at Vidya Institute in the future, we would suggest you enroll in the full curriculum. 

SUBTLE ANATOMY WORKSHOP 1: Foundations of the Five Koshas & Yogic Sadhana

The koshas are like the layers of an onion or the Russian dolls where one is nested within the other” (Iyengar, 2005).

We discover one of the oldest maps of the subtle body in the Taittiriya Upanishad. In this ancient text, a metaphor depicts five concentric circles (Pancha koshas) that surround the Self or Spirit (Atman). According to this map the Self is hidden away. It lies enclosed within these koshas – many people mistake what is the Self for these bodies: 

  • The Physical Body 

  • The Vital Body

  • The Emotional Body 

  • The Mental Body 

  • And The Blissful Body 

To awaken from our self-fragmentation and heal ourselves we need to work with these five layers and find our way home to our true inner selves. Only integrated sadhana will allow this deepening to take place.

logo only light transparent
Join The Vidya Institute Mailing List

Subscribers are the first to hear about new programs, receive updates to our teaching schedule, get exclusive discounts, and more.

By clicking the button, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms.

Vidya Institute logo square-transparent