Pitru Paksha: Honouring The Ancestors With Traditional Ritual & Reflection Practice

September 16, 2021
Taught Live Online

TIMES: 8:00-10:00am PDT, 11:00am-1:00pm EDT, 4:00-6:00pm BST, 5:00-7:00pm CEST

WORKSHOP INFO

“Do not neglect the truth.
Do not neglect dharma.
Do not neglect your health.
Do not neglect your well-being.
Do not neglect learning and recitation of the Veda.
Do not neglect your duties to the gods and to your forefathers”
– Taitirrya Upanishad


Pitru Paksha is a 16 day lunar period in the Vedic calendar when spiritual seekers pay homage to their ancestors.

This is done through traditional rituals including prayers, specific mantras, food offerings as well as reflection practice. The actual ritual is also named shraddh in Sanskrit, and is meant for seeking blessings and forgiveness from the ancestors.

It is likewise said to free the souls and allow for healing for all.

During this course we will explore the meaning behind this festival as well as ways in which we can partake in these auspicious traditions.

Since the festival itself starts on the 20th you will have a chance to prepare all that you might need for the ritual.

logo only light transparent
Join The Vidya Institute Mailing List

Subscribers are the first to hear about new programs, receive updates to our teaching schedule, get exclusive discounts, and more.

By clicking the button, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms.

Vidya Institute logo square-transparent