Contemplation and the 3 Margas of Karma, Bhakti and Jnana

October 9-13, 2022
Online Virtual Workshop

TIMES: 

Lecture: 6:00am-8:00am PST, 9:00am-11:00am EST, 2:00pm-4:00pm BST, 3:00pm-5:00pm CET

Asana: 8:30am-10:30am PST, 11:30am-1:30pm EST, 4:30pm-6:30pm BST, 5:30pm-7:30pm CET

WORKSHOP INFO

Man was blessed with a head, a heart and hands that are made for: jnana, bhakti and karma. Karma cannot be done without knowledge and love. Bhakti cannot be understood without action and knowledge. Jnana cannot be gained without knowledge and action. True knowledge, true love, true action cannot be acquired without a regular practice and without adopting rigorous discipline.” BKS Iyengar

The brilliance of Patanjali’s teachings in regards to contemplative practice is the overall lack of dogma, and his openness to a variety of methods. Some of these meditation methods concern the Yoga of Right relationship. These relate to practices of contemplation, prayers, mantra and reflection which can help us to heal and grow through sacred relationship – either with our own heart, breath and sacred sound, or with our Guru or chosen deity.

In this 5 day workshop we will focus on the integrated approach of karma, bhakti and jnana in daily contemplation and Iyengar Yoga Sadhana. 

A special focus will be the Mother of all mantras: the Gayatri mantra as well as selections from the Sacred text of the Guru Gita. Aside from these perennial practices we will study sutras on flowering of our intuition through daily sitting. In the session of Iyengar Yoga there will be an emphasis on Pranayama practice and the cultivation of 4 stages of in Practice.