The Iyengar Method & The Art Of Sequencing

Workshop #2 of The Iyengar Method & Patanjali’s Soul-Psychology

March 16- 17th, 2024
Live Online Workshop
Lecture and sutra recitation with Gitte Bechsgaard:7:00am-9:00am PDT, 10:00am-12:00pm EDT, 2:00pm-4:00pm GMT, 3:00pm-5:00pm CETIyengar Yoga practice with Gloria (Saturday) and Sheila (Sunday):9:30am-11:00am PDT, 12:30pm-2:00pm EDT, 4:30pm-6:00pm GMT, 5:30pm-7:00pm CET

The Iyengar Method & The Art Of Sequencing
Workshop #2: Foundations of Sattvification and Guna Theory

 

March 16-17th, 2024

Lecture and sutra recitation with Gitte Bechsgaard
7:00am-9:00am PDT, 10:00am-12:00pm EDT, 2:00pm-4:00pm GMT, 3:00pm-5:00pm CET

Iyengar Yoga practice with Gloria (Saturday) and Sheila (Sunday)
9:30am-11:00am PDT, 12:30pm-2:00pm EDT, 4:30pm-6:00pm GMT, 5:30pm-7:00pm CET

 


“We use the word luminosity, which is the inner, serene quality of light, to describe sattva. It is that quality we are trying to elevate and integrate within us. ” 

 – BKS Iyengar

 

During this 2 day workshop, you’ll uncover the inner workings of the mind and how they tie into the guna theory. 

We will focus on the ancient sanskrit commentary for the famous yoga sutra ‘yogah citta vritti nirodha’. This is the most essential of the sutras for Iyengar yoga practitioners of all levels. Not only does the commentary address the gunas influence on our bodies, it also looks at how our mind and spiritual path can be influenced by tamas, rajas, and sattva.

In this way the guna theory provides a step by step system to calm and control all the fluctuating states of the body and mind. This process of sattvification brings us from the darkest tendencies of tamas to the highest spiritual peaks of sattva. 

Without understanding guna theory, we cannot expect to grasp the intelligence of sequencing within the Iyengar yoga method. 

Sheila Haswell/Gloria Goldberg will then help you apply the teachings of the guna theory in a 3 step approach to asana. During your asana sadhana you’ll integrate the philosophies of both sattvification and the guna theory into your day-to-day practice.

 

This workshop will include:

  • Sutra Recitation 
  • Traditional Sanskrit Chants
  • Lectures & Philosophical Teachings
  • Guided Iyengar Yoga Practice

**Please note: This weekend workshop is impacted by daylight savings. Please anchor your time to the North American zones.

Enroll for Full 4 Workshop Series w/ 10% Discount (20% Off For Early Bird Enrollment Before Nov 30, 2023)

Workshop #2 Registration Fee: 140USD

Enroll for Workshop #2: The Iyengar Method & The Art Of Sequencing <<

logo only light transparent
Join The Vidya Institute Mailing List

Subscribers are the first to hear about new programs, receive updates to our teaching schedule, get exclusive discounts, and more.

By clicking the button, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms.

Vidya Institute logo square-transparent