The Iyengar Method & Progressive Pranayama

Workshop #4 of The Iyengar Method & Patanjali’s Soul-Psychology

June 1-2, 2024
Live Online Workshop
Lecture and sutra recitation with Gitte Bechsgaard:7:00am-9:00am PDT, 10:00am-12:00pm EDT, 3:00pm-5:00pm BST, 4:00pm-6:00pm CEST Iyengar Yoga practice with Gloria (Saturday) and Sheila (Sunday):9:30am-11:00am PDT, 12:30pm-2:00pm EDT, 5:30pm-7:00pm BST, 6:30pm-8:00pm CEST

The Iyengar Method & Progressive Pranayama
Workshop #4: An Integrative Approach To The Mind, Body, & Breath

 

June 1st-2nd, 2024

Lecture and sutra recitation with Gitte Bechsgaard
7:00am-9:00am PDT, 10:00am-12:00pm EDT, 2:00pm-4:00pm GMT, 3:00pm-5:00pm CET

Iyengar Yoga practice with Gloria (Saturday) and Sheila (Sunday)
9:30am-11:00am PDT, 12:30pm-2:00pm EDT, 4:30pm-6:00pm GMT, 5:30pm-7:00pm CET

 


Pranayama, the fourth constituent of yoga, is what the heart is to the human body”

 – BKS Iyengar

 

During this 2 day workshop, we will explore one of the fundamental elements of BKS Iyengar’s yoga methodology.. 

The vedic concept of kala (Time and, by extension, right timing).

Iyengar’s inspiration, the sage Patanjali’s system, is about calming and controlling the mind & body. We cannot harness the mind and body without controlling the breath, and so it’s imperative to work with the mind, body, and breath in interaction with one another.  

In order to achieve harmony between these pillars, precise timing is vital. 

The methodical application of timing, where the yoga practitioner stays in certain poses longer than in others develops not only endurance and resilience but also the subtle gifts of inner rest.  

The optimal approach to Pranayama was perfected over centuries by the ancient sages and yogis. They refined their highly cultivated observations and techniques into a step by step system within the yoga sutras.

In sutra 2.49, it is stated that Pranayama is not to be approached until right placement has been achieved during asana practice. 

Otherwise it will readily disturb the mind. 

Iyengar incorporated blankets, blocks, weights, and other props in order to masterfully guide practitioners to this goal of right placement. This use of props to achieve right placement and symmetry allows the body and energy systems to be completely supported and at ease. 

Together, precise timing, intelligent use of props, and conscious placement provide many of the profound therapeutic benefits of Iyengar Yoga. 

After each philosophy and lecture portion of these teachings are complete, Sheila Haswell/Gloria Goldberg will then guide you through preparatory asanas, pranayama, and shavasana, which align with the systematic approach found in the ancient texts. 

 

This Workshop Will Include: 

  • Sutra Recitation 
  • Traditional Sanskrit Chants
  • Pranayama Instruction
  • Lectures & Philosophical Teachings
  • Guided Iyengar Yoga Practice

 

Enroll for Full 4 Workshop Series w/ 10% Discount (20% Off For Early Bird Enrollment Before Nov 30, 2023)

Workshop #4 Enrollment Fee: 140USD

Enroll for Workshop #4: The Iyengar Method & Meditative Discipline <<

logo only light transparent
Join The Vidya Institute Mailing List

Subscribers are the first to hear about new programs, receive updates to our teaching schedule, get exclusive discounts, and more.

By clicking the button, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms.

Vidya Institute logo square-transparent